Hidden Dangers

Ps 119:133

Direct my steps by Your word,

And let no iniquity have dominion over me.

NKJV

          If you have spent much time on a riding lawn mower, then I’m sure it has happened to you.  It happened to me twice this past Saturday morning.  I was cutting around the little blowup pool in the backyard.  As I drove past the ladder that the kids use to climb in and out of the pool, “SUUMP – SCREECH – SCREECH”.  I turned off the engine as quick as I could and jumped off the mower to see what in the world I had run over.  As it turns out, I had sucked an old nasty muddy throw rug up into the deck of the mower.  It was one that we had placed at the bottom of the pool ladder last year.  Talk about nasty, that thing was nasty, and now it was wrapped tighter than a banjo string around the mower hub.  After several minutes of pulling and fighting, I finally pulled it free.

Ten minutes later, I was mowing up around the storage building when I heard, “WHACK – SLAP – SMACK – SMACK”.  Once again I turned the mower off as quickly as I could.  What was it this time?  I just ran over the temporary power cord that I had run to the outbuilding!  What a frustrating morning!  As I got back on the mower after picking up little pieces of wire, a thought occurred to me.  In my rush to get the grass cut before my softball game, I skipped the most important step in the lawn cutting process!  I usually walk through the yard, removing toys, garden hoses, nasty old rugs, power cords, stuffed animals, pool toys, trash, etc.  I had failed to identify and remove the hidden dangers that lurked in my path!

How many times do we do that with our spiritual lives?  We fail to spend the time required to intentionally identify and remove the hidden dangers in our lives.  Maybe you should slow down and consider your path.  Consider the road you are on.  Are there traps there in your path that have the potential to ruin your life?  How about your TV?  How about your relationships?  What about your desire for material things?  Sometimes it can be a lustful eye or a prideful heart.  If we fail to remove the Potential Hazards, they are sure to cause Painful Havoc in our lives!

-BP

Prov 28:22

A man with an evil eye hastens after riches,

And does not consider that poverty will come upon him.

NKJV

Leave a comment