Go Again

“And the Lord said to me, ‘Go again, love a woman who is loved by another man and is an adulteress, even as the Lord loves the children of Israel, though they turn to other gods and love cakes of raisins.” Hosea 3:1

Years ago I stood on a foreign mission field and said to God, “Get me out of this place, I will never be here again.”  My reason for saying this was simple, “The place was filthy and the people would require a great sacrifice on my part.”  Thankfully God did not listen to my prayer!  The place (Romania) and the people (Romanians) have become very dear to my heart.

Question, “Is the Lord dealing with your heart about a place where He wants you to invest your life in the gospel?”

God was dealing with Hosea’s heart.  Here the man of God followed the will of God by marrying a prostitute.  This woman gave him three children, but now she has returned to her former life.  In this setting God says, “Go again and get this woman.”  So down to the slave market he goes and buys this woman back (Redeems her).

Think it through:

Hosea’s life is a picture of how God loves Israel.  Israel is pictured as the prostitute who turns from God.  Chapter 4 describes the depths of Israel’s rebellious heart, “For a spirit of whoredom has led her astray.”

Brothers and sisters, every person is born with such a spirit.  We go astray from the beginning.  It is God who comes to us and redeems us (Colossians 1:14) from the slavery we are in.

This morning I could not keep from praising the God who brought me out of the slave market!!!

Our response:

What does God have to say about the redeemed ministry to others?  Here is one suggestion:  “The people around us are dying because no one is telling them there is another way.”

God spoke through Hosea to the people in 4:6, “My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge.”  

God’s chosen people (Priests) had failed to share the Word of God.  It is often the same way today.

10 years ago I was standing on foreign soil with the Word of God in my head and heart.  But I was trying to leave.  There God broke my heart for people who had never heard.  Today, there is a thriving ministry center that is daily sharing the gospel.

Could it be that God is wanting to do the same with you today?

-Pastor Keith Joseph

Leave a comment