Adversities

James 1:2-4

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

Today on my 10 mile bike ride I encountered many of the same adversaries that I normally do. There was the large dogs behind the fence, snarling and licking his chops as if he knew that I was a fried chicken eaten Baptist Preacher, with chicken grease still on my fingers. Then there is the little yippers who charge and nip at my heals. There is only one adversary that normally comes at me head on and that is the dreadful hills. The only thing that makes them worse is, my phone always seems to ring as I’m climbing them. Yes I must answer it.

Today’s main adversary caught me by surprise! Often times he has sneaked up behind me, and assisted me in my ride. NOT TODAY! He appeared to be angry! He charged me head on with great fury, at times almost making me fall. He would try to stop my bike and keep me from going forward. I became quite angry with him and was almost ready to give up on the ride because he was so aggravating. I prayed and I said Lord give me strength to overcome this adversary. I peddled harder and harder and the adversary picked up his force. He stayed opposing me for almost the entire trip. In the end I coasted into my driveway and he had suddenly disappeared. I said to myself, “Now where did that WIND GO?”

The Lord then spoke to my heart and said, “The wind was your helper even when you thought it was your adversary.” I looked down at my track keeper and it showed that because of the extra resistance I had burned a great deal more calories than normal on this same ride. So in the end I was able to make Lemonade out of that Lemon experience.

Many times when we face adversities we need to ask the Lord to give us strength and help us to see the good in them.

-Pastor Danny

1 Peter 5:6-11

Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.  Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.  Resist him, firm in your faith, knowing that the same kinds of suffering are being experienced by your brotherhood throughout the world.  And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.  To him be the dominion forever and ever. Amen.

Leave a comment