Stained

James 1:27

Religion that is pure and undefiled before God, the Father, is this: to visit orphans and widows in their affliction, and to keep oneself unstained from the world.

(ESV)

          I guess I am going to have to throw them away!  My father-in-law had given me a nice pair of khaki cargo pants.  It was one of my favorite pairs of pants.  You know that kind of material that is extra soft.  I was ironing them one Sunday morning a few weeks ago when there it was; right there on the last spot I had to iron… I big ink stain!

I have tried and tried to get that stain out over the past several weeks, but it will not come out.  One thing is for sure, I am not going to wear clothes with a big stain on them!  I have thrown away more clothes for this one reason than any other: STAINED.

What about our spiritual lives?  What if we were as concerned about our spiritual lives being clean before the world as we are about our khaki pants?  Just as I don’t ignore the stains that show up as I iron my Sunday clothes, I should not ignore the stains that show up as I allow the Holy Spirit to search my life.  Praise the Lord that through repentance and the cleansing power of the blood of Christ, He is able to make us clean!

-BP

Psalm 139:23-24

Search me, O God, and know my heart:

Try me, and know my thoughts;

And see if there be any wicked way in me,

And lead me in the way everlasting.

(ASV)

Psalm 51:7

Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean;

wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.

(ESV)

Leave a comment