Making the Grade

Romans 4:2-3

 If, in fact, Abraham was justified by works, he had something to boast about—but not before God.  What does Scripture say? “Abraham believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness.” 

This week, my daughter finally received her final report card for her first year of doing home-school through Grace Christian Academy (probably because she had to work all summer to finish the year).  Her reaction upon receiving the report card was intense disappointment.

Her grades weren’t too bad.  All of the grades were either in the eighties or nineties.  However, the top of the report card said that her overall GPA was a 2.74.  Also, next to each grade average, it showed the letter grade.  The scores that showed 87 and 86 both had a “C” grade next to it.

I called the school and found out that their grading scale is different than most schools and GA standards.  According to the headmaster, this school goes by “a higher standard.”  My daughter thought that she had all A’s and B’s; however, she was disappointed with the final results when she found out that their standards considered her grades as B’s and C’s.

This made me think about God’s standard of judgment.  I believe that there will be many people who thought that they did good enough to earn heaven.  People who think that their good deeds and lifestyle are enough for a passing grade who will only find that the standard is different than they had thought.  Imagine the huge disappoint!

Let’s learn from David who didn’t live the perfect life, but yet wrote:

“Blessed are those

whose transgressions are forgiven,

whose sins are covered.

Blessed is the one

whose sin the Lord will never count against them.”

(Romans 4:7-8, Psalm 32:1-2)

I used to believe that I was a Christian because I was a good person.  I went to church and tried to not do things that were wrong, believing that this was enough to get the grade.  Therefore, I understand how Satan can trick people into relying on their own works.  Thank you, God, for opening my eyes to the truth and showing my need to trust in you only.  I pray for more people to realize that good deeds are not enough.  Thank you for saving, justifying faith; please increase my faith!

-RB

Romans 4:23-25 

The words “it was credited to him” were written not for him alone, but also for us, to whom God will credit righteousness—for us who believe in him who raised Jesus our Lord from the dead.  He was delivered over to death for our sins and was raised to life for our justification.

One response »

  1. Great job with
    such a clear message.

    Reply

Leave a comment