Healthy Relationships

Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

Two are better than one,

because they have a good return for their labor:

If either of them falls down,

one can help the other up.

But pity anyone who falls

and has no one to help them up.

Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm.

But how can one keep warm alone?

Though one may be overpowered,

two can defend themselves.

A cord of three strands is not quickly broken. 

The significance of this verse really showed itself to be true for me today.  For the last couple of months, I’ve been teaching the Jr. High Girl REACH class since Ms. Betty was leaving.  Right now, I do not have a partner to help teach these girls and minister to them on a personal level.  Therefore, right now I have “no one to help” me when I fall.

I’ve been looking forward to today’s lesson in John 5 for a couple of weeks because the message is so strong…I pray that I can say with confidence that I trust only in Jesus as my hope and salvation.  When I woke up this morning though, I felt really sick with a bad stomach ache.  As I was getting ready for church, I was walking around moaning and groaning (even more so than usual).

I was able to go to Sunday School and have the lesson…even though it was not a good day to be messing with rotten eggs!  After REACH, my husband and I were scheduled to watch the toddlers today.  Fortunately, Jennifer and Aubrey volunteered to help us out and watch the children for us.  For this, I am extremely grateful (especially now since I feel pretty confident that I have a stomach virus).

The Southern Baptist Convention wrote about these scriptures today saying:

“Scripture gives advice on how we should conduct ourselves when we are involved in friendships and partnerships. Since the Bible gives us instructions on these matters, it should be concluded that God sees us in these relationships even in ministry. From Elijah and Elisha to Paul and Silas, God has been using great men and women working together all throughout history. The Lord Jesus Christ even paired the disciples off for service. And He called unto Him the twelve, and began to send them forth by two and two; and gave them power over unclean spirits (Mark 6:7).

The Lord intends for us to have relationships. God wants us to interact with other believers. Through these interactions, we bring more strength, fellowship and love into our lives and the lives of others. This is not just about going to church, though that is important. It is about being a part of the body of Christ.”

My prayer this evening is that God will build up unity and relationships within the church.  If a cord of “three strands is not quickly broken”, oh the power of tens or hundreds.

-RB

Romans 15:5-7

May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you the same attitude of mind toward each other that Christ Jesus had, so that with one mind and one voice you may glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. Accept one another, then, just as Christ accepted you, in order to bring praise to God.

Leave a comment