Food For Thought

John 6:32-35

 Jesus said to them, “Very truly I tell you, it is not Moses who has given you the bread from heaven, but it is my Father who gives you the true bread from heaven.  For the bread of God is the bread that comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.”

 “Sir,” they said, “always give us this bread.”

 Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.

 As I’ve been finishing up reading the Old Testament, I am finishing up reading the entire Bible which I’ve been working on since God saved me.  (I read the New Testament first).  Now I’m an expert on everything in the Bible and I am done reading it…right?  NOT!

Sometimes I believe that there is nothing more that I could write a devotion about; however, God still speaks something new to me every time I open up His Word…it truly is alive and active and cannot be exhausted!

I like the way Louie Giglio’s sermon describes how rich the Bible is.  He starts off by describing density and says that he loves astronomy.  He mentions neutron stars which are the result of a collapse of a massive star in which the neutron star pulls itself back together and is incredibly dense.  “Neutron stars are possibly the most dense things there are.  Scientists say that if you take a teaspoon full of a neutron star, and just scooped out one teaspoon of the star, that teaspoon would weigh one billion tons.  Don’t drop that on your foot!”

Louie reminds me that the Bible is not a casual book that we just pick up and read.  It’s not something that we can skip over parts or skim read.  “Every time that we’re coming to the living pages of this scripture, we must understand that the scripture is a neutron star.  It is incredibly dense.  This Word of God is full of God, and because of that, the density of scripture is far greater than anything we can imagine.  What I mean by that is, you can take a teaspoon out of the Word of God, and the weight of that teaspoon could hold you for the rest of your life.”

Let’s meditate on God’s Word.  I imagine that a lot of people will be eating a lot of food today…probably way more than we need to.  Many people will eat sweet potato soufflé or sweet potato pie, but there is something that is sweeter.  “How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!” Psalms 119:103.  Let’s not neglect the most important food that we need.  Let’s chew on the Holy Scriptures…don’t forget your daily teaspoon!

-RB

Psalm 63:2-5

I have seen you in the sanctuary

and beheld your power and your glory.

Because your love is better than life,

my lips will glorify you.

I will praise you as long as I live,

and in your name I will lift up my hands.

I will be fully satisfied as with the richest of foods;

with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

One response »

  1. Well said! May God’s people crave His Word like Thanksgiving dinner!

    Reply

Leave a comment