Hear My Cry For Help

Hear my cry for help,
    my King and my God,
    for to you I pray.

 In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice;
    in the morning I lay my requests before you
    and wait expectantly.
Psalm 5:2-3

 As I write this, it is the end of my day.  I know it’s probably the beginning of yours, so work with me.

Today has been challenging.  It started off outside in 40 degree weather trying to find a set of keys.  I slung laundry through the machines as I headed out the door with five kids in tow.  I was on the road most of the day playing chauffeur to the children in my home.  I caught a brief glimpse of my husband as I served him a drive-by meal.

I spent the afternoon on the phone with a hurting friend.  I then spent the evening trying to keep the baby off the table tops.  The night is not over yet even though the new day has officially begun and my bed is calling my name.

I know as I  lay down to pursue sleep I will cry out to the LORD for hurting friends, sleepy ball players, exhausted family members, and sick loved ones.

The new day will come soon enough with the blare of the clock radio.  I will hit the clock a few times (not too many!) and rise to begin again.

Once again I will pray for the things I pray for right now. I will pray expectantly, already looking for your answer.  Some answers will be Yes, some will be No, and others will be Wait.

As I think of sleep, I’m reminded of our Quiet Time today.  Jacob slept on a stone.  During the night the LORD spoke to him and showed him a glimpse of heaven and a glimpse of his future.  He woke up, refreshed even though he slept on a rock instead of like a rock, and he promptly committed his entire life (not just one day) to following God.

That’s a productive night’s rest!  Imagine spiritually growing while you sleep!  That sounds like some type of infomercial!  It sounds too good to be true.

But our God is good.  And believe it or not, He is not too good to be true.  He is good and He is true.

We can trust Him.  Go ahead and pray.  Go ahead and wait expectantly.  He will answer.  He will heal.  He will help.

-bbm

Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.

 James 5:16

Leave a comment